Bayanihan Linux Support Forum Index
Bayanihan Linux Support
The Official Community Forum
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Problem Installing Version4 on an AMD Athlon64
pmanuel
Baguhan

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Quezon City
Reply with quote
I'm trying to install Bayanihan Linux 4 on my PC and it can't recognize my Hard Drive. I have an ATHLON64 (AM2 Board) with SATA 80 GB drive. What could be my problem? Kindly help me out.

Thanks,
Paulo
View user's profileSend private message
rage
Technical Support

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reply with quote
Hi. Try the new build of the installer which you can downoad from the link below:

http://www.bayanihan.gov.ph/downloads/BL4rc1-build11.iso

_________________
Registered Linux User #376704
Get counted at http://counter.li.org
Bayanihan GNU/Linux 5 (Kalumbata)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
pmanuel
Baguhan

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Quezon City
Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply. I forgot to mention that my HD is formatted as NTFS. Could that reason why I'm having some problems. Then I got the CD copy of the BL4 from your office last January 5, 2007, is this already outdated?

Paulo
View user's profileSend private message
pmanuel
Baguhan

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Quezon City
Reply with quote
Sir,

Still can't install BL4 because it cannot detect my hard drive. Please help me out.

Paulo
View user's profileSend private message
rage
Technical Support

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reply with quote
We've tested BL4 here on some systems with SATA disks and did not encounter any problems. If you can, may I suggest bringing your PC here instead so we can troubleshoot the installation process better.

_________________
Registered Linux User #376704
Get counted at http://counter.li.org
Bayanihan GNU/Linux 5 (Kalumbata)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
pmanuel
Baguhan

Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Quezon City
Reply with quote
Rage,

I'll try to bring the PC tomorrow.

Many Thanks,
Paulo
View user's profileSend private message
reneca
Marunong ng kunti sa Linux

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
sir rage,
bagong build? mas bago po ba iyan sa release 2? aside from downlaod sites? where else can i obtain this new release? in currently at bacarra(ilocos norte) right now and sad to say, it may take me 14hours to download the iso here. any other way to obtain a cd copy of it?? my problem with the release 2 was it cannot detect my maxtor(80Gb) and seagate (80Gb) SATA drives. im also using athlon 64 AM2 & NVIDIA nFORCE 4 SATA chipset. there is no available nforce 4 sata driver on the cd


thanks & more power
View user's profileSend private message
rage
Technical Support

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reply with quote
Hi.

Some users have reported success by enabling "legacy support" in the BIOS. The BIOS settings have defaults that may not work under linux so it could be just a matter of figuring out the right settings to get linux to detect the harddisk.

_________________
Registered Linux User #376704
Get counted at http://counter.li.org
Bayanihan GNU/Linux 5 (Kalumbata)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
reneca
Marunong ng kunti sa Linux

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
hi,
enabled po ung legacy drivers s BIOS.btw, im using a BL4 release 2 installer ive d0wnloded s0metime may 2006.
View user's profileSend private message
ty_buzz
Sobrang galing sa Linux

Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Southern Leyte
Reply with quote
i have an Athlon 64 processor and an 80 G hard disk. I didn't have any problems installing BL4
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
reneca
Marunong ng kunti sa Linux

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
hi, is your hdd sata or ide? i hav an epox socket AM2 board with NF4 chipset and pci-e video card. sad to say but i hav no such problems with other distro,i only hav this problem with BL4.
View user's profileSend private message
rage
Technical Support

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reply with quote
On systems with NForce chipsets you need to use the text-mode install in order to install BL4. Just type linux text at the boot: prompt. Then when the install is finished, follow the instructions below to create a regular user account.

http://forum.bayanihan.gov.ph/viewtopic.php?t=552

_________________
Registered Linux User #376704
Get counted at http://counter.li.org
Bayanihan GNU/Linux 5 (Kalumbata)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
reneca
Marunong ng kunti sa Linux

Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
sad to say ganun pa rin lumalabas na error kahit linux noacpi,linux text,linux nohotplug,linux nofb,linux nopci o linux skipddc ung bo0t prompt ko.
right now nakukuntento lng ako s bl4 running on virtualbox.

anyway,hope the next version of BL wud address this rare(?) error.
View user's profileSend private message
rage
Technical Support

Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reply with quote
reneca wrote:
sad to say ganun pa rin lumalabas na error kahit linux noacpi,linux text,linux nohotplug,linux nofb,linux nopci o linux skipddc ung bo0t prompt ko.
right now nakukuntento lng ako s bl4 running on virtualbox.

anyway,hope the next version of BL wud address this rare(?) error.


Won't likely be the case unless we have access to your hardware for testing. Unless, of course, if you manage to resolve that issue and send us information how you resolved it.

_________________
Registered Linux User #376704
Get counted at http://counter.li.org
Bayanihan GNU/Linux 5 (Kalumbata)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo Messenger
Problem Installing Version4 on an AMD Athlon64
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.